Chanda – Demonstrations

chanda - demoThose of you who know me from plurk, may have read one of my rants about skin demos. I will try not to let this post end in a rant, but I would like to say a few words about demos, especially skin demos.
Above you see an example of a great skin demo, the way it should be in my opinion – I hope, Izzie doesn’t mind me using her work as a positive example.

I will not show any pictures for negative examples – I don’t want to diss any hard working creator, even if they made a poor choice for their demos.

What I am talking about, are demos that are covered in lines or even grids from head to toe. Of course, I do understand creators want to protect their work from thieves and keep people from using the demo skin, instead of buying the actual one.
But when a skin is totally covered, you can’t make out the fine details. And it’s those details that are the most important to me. I am always searching for “the” skin for one of my characters. Once I found it, they usually stick to it for a long time, or at least to the same skin maker.
Most of the time, the lines cover the seams between different parts of the texture as well. In other words, it makes it harder to see if a skin is well-made or not. Now, I am prepared to pay a fair price for a well-made skin I like. But if I am going to spend that much money, I expect to be able to see the quality and details before my purchase.

Before this really turns into a rant, here’s another picture of Chanda wearing an entirely new look, which is quite unusual for her.

chanda - demo outfit

skin: Izzie's (The Dressing Room Fusion)
hair: LoQ (Marketplace promo)
top: Sey
pants: Boom (The Dressing Room Fusion)
earring: Glow Studio (The Dressing Room Fusion)
necklace: Kosh
poses: Adorkable (closing inworld soon! check out their sale!)
Leave a Reply

